Impacts

Families followed in 2022-2023

La Maison Bleue serves families living in vulnerable situations. The care model at La Maison Bleue enables these families to receive care in accordance with recommendations, resulting in favorable health outcomes.

From April 1, 2022
as of March 31, 2023
Côte-des-neiges
Opened in 2007
Parc-Extension
Oponed in 2011
Saint-Michel
Openedin 2017
Verdun
Oponed in 2020
Total
Total number of pregnant
women monitored
107 92 90 80 369
New pregnancy follow-ups 76 53 59 58 246
Mothers/families followed 408 339 273 112 1 132
 Children followed 381 497 347 132 1 357
Spouses followed 58 36 96 35 225
Total of people followed 847 872 716 279 2 174
Total number since the opening (active and transferred files) 3 030 2 234 1 217 308 6 789

Data about results

La Maison Bleue serves families living in vulnerable situations. The care model at La Maison Bleue enables these families to receive care in accordance with recommendations, resulting in favorable health outcomes.

Compared to patients attending local community service centers (CLSC), patients followed by the La Maison Bleue social perinatal network represent a much more vulnerable population, with numerous barriers to accessing care. The results show that patients receiving prenatal and early childhood care at La Maison Bleue have similar or better health outcomes than local or regional averages and demonstrate patterns of health service use that reflect reduced barriers to access to care.

Premature babies Low-weight babies
Montreal
7.1%
Montreal
6.5%
La Maison Bleue
5.7%
La Maison Bleue
5.0%

Activity Reports

Research and evaluations

2023

Socio-demographic characteristics, use of health services and health outcomes among mothers and their children monitored at La Maison Bleue

This project examined the sociodemographic characteristics and health outcomes of patients receiving care at the La Maison Bleue Parc-Extension, Côte-des-Neiges and Saint-Michel sites. Health services’ usage profiles among patients receiving care at LMB PEX and CDN sites are also described.

Report prepared by Rina Lall, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, McGill University, Natasha Odessa Grimard, School of Medicine – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, McGill University, Erin Hetherington, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, McGill University

2023

Projet : “Prevalence and Determinants of Overweight and Obesity Among Preschool-Aged Children from Migrant and Socioeconomically Disadvantaged Contexts”

Among migrant and socioeconomically disadvantaged preschool-aged children followed in a community-based social perinatal primary care centre in Montreal, Canada, La Maison Bleue, (The cumulative prevalence of overweight risk, overweight and obesity in children aged 3 to 5 in Quebec was 34.2% (CHMS, 2012-2015)). Research is needed to better understand the role of social perinatal services such as those offered at La Maison Bleue in promoting optimal weight gain in at-risk children.

Research made by Claudia Woronko, McGill University – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Lisa Merry, Université de Montréal, Sumeyye Uckun, Université de Montréal Anaële Cuerrier, McGill University – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Patricia Li, McGill University – McGill University Health Centre, Jennifer Hille, La Maison Bleue, Andraea Van Hulst, McGill University – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences,

Other research projects

At La Maison Bleue, we have a deep commitment towards the scientific community, so as to better understand the interest, the outreach and limits of our organizational model. That is why we support research projects that will enhance our strategic thinking and maximize our contribution to the improvement of services offered in first-line services in Québec, particularly in terms of accessibility and equity when it comes to health.

bebe et infirmiere

2023

Project: Transnationalism and caring for vulnerable-status, migrant women and their families during pregnancy and early-childhood

Project led by Lisa Merry, Faculty of Nursing at the Université de Montréal, Meghry Kevork, Institut universitaire SHERPA, Jennifer Hille, La Maison Bleue of Parc-Extension, on the transnational ties migrants have with their country of origin, including identity, social, cultural, economic and service/care links and interactions.

There are still significant gaps in the approach of health workers to transnational links between migrants and whether and how these links are addressed in the context of care. La Maison Bleue is a community-based organization with a social perinatal approach that provides health and social services to vulnerable families during pregnancy until the last child turns five. The authors conducted a small qualitative descriptive study and interviewed 7 staff members (nursing, social work, family medicine, psychoeducation) and 3 directors/management support staff members to gather data on their experiences and views on “transnationalism” for vulnerable migrant women and their families. Transnational identity (language, culture, attachment to country of origin) and ongoing ties to country of origin, including communication with children and extended family, sending funds, and obtaining advice on children’s education and health, typically occur in care interactions. Foster transnational relations and cultural identity are strategies used by staff members of La Maison Bleue to strengthen the sense of belonging of migrant families and help them cope with losses, while tackling transnational tensions to promote the well-being of families.

2020

Practice story on a project to promote the well-being and health of mothers and their children in a pandemic context

Project led by Mireille Malaket, Master’s candidate, School of Social Work, Université de Montréal and Anne-Marie Bellemare, social worker at La Maison Bleue. In the form of a practice story, this article presents a project carried out in 2020-2021 at La Maison Bleue Parc-Extension aimed at promoting the well-being and health of mothers and their children in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The project, comprised of two initiatives named Walking Club (Club de marche) and Project Plants (Projet Plantes), mobilized practices centered on nature and adventure (PCNAs) through group meetings focused on family health. This project enabled participants to regain collective power over their health by creating new social ties, adapting to the territory and getting closer to nature. This practice narrative is intended to inspire the introduction of PCNAs in new intervention settings. It highlights the role of social workers (SWs) in influencing the overall health of individuals, groups and communities by prescribing nature outings and fighting for equal access to nature and urban green.

2019

Medicine Interns Experience at La Maison Bleue

Julie Massé, a master student in Community Health at Université Laval is interested in the acquisition of knowledge of doctors that have done an internship at La Maison Bleue in the course of their clinical training and the potential applicability of their learnings in later frontline practices.

2019

Understanding resiliency among young recent migrant families accessing services from La Maison Bleue

Thalia Aubé, a nursing master student at McGill University, is interested in resiliency among young recent migrant families, particularly what is developed with the access to services and participation to activities at La Maison Bleue. Her study examins how families build on their forces and skills to promote health and well-being for their children. Her study examins how families build on their forces and skills to promote health and well-being for their children.

2019

Project “Lanterne”

Funded by Avenir d’enfants, the “Lanterne” project is an initiative from the Centre d’expertise Marie-Vincent. It aims to prevent sexual abuse towards toddlers by raising awareness within different communities to the importance of sexual education and egalitarian relationships. It will do so by developing educational and intervention material adapted to the needs and development level of 0-5 year olds.

In its data collection phase, families and employees of La Maison Bleue participated in discussion groups. Following this, La Maison Bleue will contribute to the creation and implantation of tools developed, by participating in various committees of the “Lanterne” project.

Want to know more

Subscribe to our newsletter

We use an automated marketing platform to manage the relationship with our customers and send them promotional emails. By clicking "Send", you agree that the information provided will be sent to us in accordance with our privacy policy and terms of use.

Donate now

Every gesture counts...

Impacts

Les familles suivies en 2023-2024

Chaque année, La Maison Bleue rejoint des centaines de familles et leur fournit des services médicaux, psychosociaux, éducatifs et juridiques intégrés.

Du 1er avril 2023
au 31 mars 2024
Côte-des-Neiges
Ouverture en 2007
Parc-Extension
Ouverture en 2011
Saint-Michel
Ouverture en 2017
Verdun
Ouverture en 2020
Total
Nombre total de femmes
enceintes suivies
897410563331
Nouveaux suivis de grossesses65577940241
Mamans/familles suivies3083253181241 075
 Enfants suivis3713714241671 333
Conjoints suivis513911647253
Nombre total de personnes suivies7307358583382 661
Nombre total depuis l’ouverture3 1632 3531 4054007 321

Données sur les effets

La Maison Bleue suit des familles vivant en contexte de vulnérabilité. Notre modèle de soins à La Maison Bleue permet à ces familles de recevoir des soins conformément aux recommandations, et ce, avec des résultats de santé favorables.

Une étude quantitative concernant les suivis actifs des années 2016 à 2021 a été menée sur les sites de
Côte-des-Neiges, Parc-Extension et Saint-Michel. Comparativement aux patientes qui fréquentent les centres locaux de services communautaires (CLSC), les patientes suivies à La Maison Bleue représentent une population beaucoup plus vulnérable, avec de nombreux obstacles à l’accès aux soins. Les résultats montrent que les patientes recevant des soins prénataux et de la petite enfance à La Maison Bleue ont des résultats de santé similaires ou meilleurs que les moyennes locales ou régionales et démontrent des modèles d’utilisation des services de santé qui reflètent des obstacles réduits à l’accès aux soins (Pour consulter l’ensemble des études faites à La Maison Bleue, visitez la section Recherches et évaluations ci-dessous).  

Bébés prématurésBébés de faible poids
Montréal
7.1%
Montréal
6.5%
La Maison Bleue
6.4%
La Maison Bleue
4.5%

Rapports d'activités

Recherches et évaluations

2023

Caractéristiques sociodémographiques, utilisation des services de santé et résultats de santé chez les mères et leurs enfants suivis à La Maison Bleue

Rapport réalisé par Rina Lall, Département d’épidémiologie, de biostatistique et de santé au travail – Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé, Université McGill , Natasha Odessa Grimard, École de médecine – Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé, Université McGill, Erin Hetherington, Département d’épidémiologie, de biostatistique et de santé au travail – Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé, Université McGill

Ce projet a examiné les caractéristiques sociodémographiques et les résultats en matière de santé des patientes recevant des soins aux sites de La Maison Bleue Parc-Extension, Côte-des-Neiges et Saint-Michel. Les profils d’utilisation des services de santé parmi les patientes recevant des soins aux sites LMB PEX et CDN sont également décrits.

2023

Projet : “Prevalence and Determinants of Overweight and Obesity Among Preschool-Aged Children from Migrant and Socioeconomically Disadvantaged Contexts”

Étude réalisée par Claudia Woronko, McGill University – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Lisa Merry, Université de Montréal, Sumeyye Uckun, Université de Montréal Anaële Cuerrier, McGill University – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Patricia Li, McGill University – McGill University Health Centre, Jennifer Hille, La Maison Bleue, Andraea Van Hulst, McGill University – Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, sur la prévalence de l’obésité chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire vivant dans un contexte de vulnérabilité sociale et économique. 

Les enfants vivant dans un contexte de vulnérabilités sociales et économiques présentent un risque accru de surpoids et d’obésité par rapport aux enfants de la population canadienne en général. Les données démontrent une prévalence élevée de surpoids et d’obésité chez des enfants d’âge préscolaire suivis depuis la naissance dans un centre de soins primaires communautaire. Bien qu’élevée, cette prévalence est inférieure aux estimations de la population québécoise pour des enfants d’âge similaire. (La prévalence cumulée du risque de surpoids, de l’embonpoint et de l’obésité chez les enfants âgés de 3 à 5 ans au Québec était de 34,2 % (ECMS, 2012-2015)). Des recherches sont nécessaires pour mieux comprendre le rôle des services de périnatalité sociale tel que les services offerts à La Maison Bleue pour favoriser un gain de poids optimal chez les enfants à risques.

Autres projets de recherche

À La Maison Bleue nous avons à cœur notre engagement envers la communauté scientifique pour mieux connaître, entre autres l’intérêt, la portée et les limites de notre modèle organisationnel. C’est pourquoi nous soutenons des projets de recherche qui permettent de bonifier notre réflexion stratégique et maximiser notre apport à l’amélioration de l’offre de service de première ligne au Québec, notamment en termes d’accès et d’équité en santé.

bebe et infirmiere

2023

Projet : Transnationalism and caring for vulnerable-status, migrant women and their families during pregnancy and early-childhood

Projet mené par Lisa Merry, Faculté des sciences infirmières à l’Université de Montréal, Meghry Kevork, Institut universitaire SHERPA, Jennifer Hille, La Maison Bleue de Parc-Extension, sur les liens transnationaux qu’ont les migrants avec leur pays d’origine, dont l’identité, les liens et les interactions sociales, culturelles, économiques et de services/soins. 

Des lacunes importantes subsistent dans l’approche du personnel de la santé sur les liens transnationaux entre les migrants et sur la question de savoir si et comment ces liens sont abordés dans le contexte de soins. La Maison Bleue est un organisme communautaire ayant une approche en périnatalité sociale qui offre des services de santé et de services sociaux aux familles en situation de vulnérabilité de la grossesse jusqu’à ce que le dernier enfant soit âgé de cinq ans. Les auteures ont mené une petite étude descriptive qualitative et interviewé 7 membres du personnel (soins infirmiers, travail social, médecine familiale, psychoéducation) et 3 administrateurs/membres du personnel de soutien de la direction pour recueillir des données sur leurs expériences et leurs points de vue sur le « transnationalisme », les femmes migrantes vulnérables et leurs familles. L’identité transnationale (langue, culture, attachement au pays d’origine) et les liens permanents avec le pays d’origine, y compris la communication avec les enfants et la famille élargie, l’envoi de fonds et l’obtention de conseils sur l’éducation et la santé des enfants, se produisent généralement dans les interactions de soins. Favoriser les relations transnationales et l’identité culturelle sont des stratégies utilisées par le personnel de La Maison Bleue pour renforcer le sentiment d’appartenance des familles migrantes et les aider à faire face aux pertes, tout en s’attaquant aux tensions transnationales pour promouvoir le bien-être des familles.

2020

Récit de pratique d’un projet visant à favoriser le bien-être et la santé des mères et de leurs enfants en contexte pandémique

Projet mené par Mireille Malaket, candidate à la maîtrise, École de travail social, Université de Montréal et Anne-Marie Bellemare, travailleuse sociale à La Maison Bleue. Sous la forme d’un récit de pratique, cet article présente un projet mené en 2020-2021 à La Maison Bleue Parc-Extension (LMB-PX) visant à favoriser le bien-être et la santé des mères et de leurs enfants dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19. 

Le projet, composé de deux initiatives appelées Club de marche et Projet Plantes, a mobilisé des pratiques centrées sur la nature et l’aventure (PCNA) dans le cadre de rencontres de groupe axées sur la santé de la famille. Ce projet a permis une reprise de pouvoir collective des participant.es sur leur santé par la création de nouveaux liens sociaux, l’adaptation au territoire ainsi qu’un rapprochement avec la nature. Ce récit de pratique vise à inspirer l’introduction des PCNA au sein de nouveaux milieux d’intervention. Il met de l’avant le rôle des travailleur.euses sociaux.ales (TS) afin d’agir sur la santé globale des individus, des groupes et des communautés en prescrivant des sorties en nature et en luttant pour un accès égal à la nature et aux espaces verts urbains.

2019

Projet : Expérience de stage en médecine à La Maison Bleue

Julie Massé, étudiante santé communautaire à l’Université Laval, s’intéresse aux apprentissages retirés par les médecins ayant fréquenté notre organisme au cours de leur formation clinique et à la potentielle applicabilité de ces apprentissages aux pratiques ultérieures de première ligne.

2019

Projet : La Maison Bleue: Strengthening resilience among migrant mothers living in Montreal, Canada

Thalia Aubé de l’Université McGill s’intéresse à la résilience chez les jeunes familles immigrantes, notamment celles qui se développent avec l’accès aux services et la participation aux activités de La Maison Bleue. L’étude examine comment ces familles utilisent leurs forces et leurs ressources pour promouvoir leur santé et leur résilience.

2019

Projet Lanterne

Financé par Avenir d’enfants, le Projet Lanterne est une initiative du Centre d’expertise Marie-Vincent et vise à prévenir la violence sexuelle chez les tout-petits notamment en sensibilisant les communautés à l’importance de l’éducation à la sexualité saine et aux relations égalitaires par le développement de matériel éducatif et d’intervention adapté aux besoins et au niveau de développement des 0-5 ans.

Dans sa phase de collecte de données, le Projet Lanterne a bénéficié de la participation à des groupes de discussion de membres de l’équipe de gestion et d’intervention de La Maison Bleue ainsi que des parents qui bénéficient de ses services. La Maison Bleue est invitée à contribuer à l’élaboration et l’implantation d’outils développés notamment en siégeant sur différents comités du projet Lanterne.

Restez informé

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre.

Nous utilisons une plateforme automatisée de marketing dans le but de gérer la relation avec nos clients et leur envoyer des courriels promotionnels. En cliquant sur «Envoyer», vous acceptez que l'information fournie nous soit transmise en accord avec notre politique de confidentialité et nos conditions d'utilisation.

DONNEZ

Chaque geste compte.